Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet
Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet
Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet

Un voyage en hiver

Regular price €120.00

Unit price per 

Title

only 2 left in stock

Fine Art Print Edition (13x13 cm image), signed and limited to 5 copies per print.

A winter trip is a journey from a village in Slovakia to Venice during carnival. After the success of Journal of a photographer, the great reporter-photographer offers a more intimate form, entirely made with a smartphone. The texts are taken from his diary.

"It was in 1999 that I began to take an interest in the Roma. The Serbs had just left Kosovo, defeated by NATO forces. The capital Pristina was empty, deserted by its Albanian inhabitants, driven out a few months before by these same Serbs. On the heights of the town, houses were on fire. They belonged to Roma, accused of having collaborated with the Serbian enemy. Driven from their homes, they had to take refuge in a camp protected by British forces from KFOR, not far from Kosovo Polje station Some were leaving the camp to board the few trains going to Serbia.

It was ten years later, in Belgrade, that I found many Roma from Kosovo, in a huge slum that stretched next to a highway, or hidden in a forest on the outskirts of the Serbian capital, or even under a railway bridge, invisible to the world.

Then it was in the Paris region that I continued this work. Roma from Romania, fleeing poverty and racism, had come to seek refuge in France. They lived in suburban slums. In turn, they were evicted from their frail homes, which were immediately destroyed by giant, noisy bulldozers.

In early 2009, a neo-Nazi march took place in the Roma neighborhood of Janov in Litvinov, Czech Republic. There I met Lenka, a Czech girl who was committed to their cause. She told me about the Roma villages in Slovakia.

Three months later, I picked her up in Prague. She will be my interpreter on this new journey. "

Alain Keler has covered all major conflicts since the mid-1970s: Israel, the Solidarność movement in Poland, Northern Ireland, the student revolt in Tian'anmen Square in Beijing, the famine in Ethiopia, the wars in Lebanon, El Salvador or Chechnya.

96 pages 45 photographs - Hardcover and canvas covere

Format: 140 x 180 mm - ISBN: 978-2-36510-078-6


A trip to winter.mp4 from July Editions we Vimeo.


 

Close (esc)

newsletter

Once a month, discover our news, our new publications and take advantage of exclusive advantages.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet
Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet
Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Un voyage en hiver - Les Editions de Juillet

Un voyage en hiver

Prix régulier €120.00

Prix unitaire par 

Titre

Seulement 2 restant

Edition de Tirage Fine Art (image de 13x13 cm), signé et limité à 5 exemplaires par tirage. 

Un voyage en hiver est un périple qui part d’un village de Slovaquie, jusqu’à Venise pendant le carnaval. Après le succès de Journal d’un photographe, le grand reporter-photographe propose une forme plus intimiste, entièrement réalisée au smartphone. Les textes sont issus de son journal.

"C’est en 1999 que je commençai à m’intéresser aux Roms. Les Serbes venaient de quitter le Kosovo, vaincus par les forces de l’OTAN. La capitale Pristina était vide, désertée de ses habitants albanais, chassés quelques mois auparavant par ces mêmes Serbes. Sur les hauteurs de la ville, des maisons brûlaient. Elles appartenaient à des Roms, accusés d’avoir collaboré avec l’ennemi serbe. Chassés de leurs maisons, ils durent se réfugier dans un camp protégé par les forces britanniques de la KFOR, non loin de gare de Kosovo Polje. Certains quittaient le camp pour monter dans les rares trains qui allaient vers la Serbie.

C’est dix ans plus tard, à Belgrade, que j’ai retrouvé de nombreux Roms du Kosovo, dans un immense bidonville qui s’étendait à côté d’une autoroute, ou cachés dans une forêt de la banlieue de la capitale serbe, ou encore sous un pont de chemin de fer, invisibles aux yeux du monde.

Puis ce fut dans la région parisienne que je continuai ce travail. Des Roms de Roumanie, fuyant la misère et le racisme, étaient venus chercher refuge en France. Ils vivaient dans des bidonvilles de banlieue. À leur tour, ils furent expulsés de leurs frêles habitations, détruites immédiatement par des bulldozers géants et bruyants.

Début 2009, une marche de néo-nazis eut lieu dans le quartier rom de Janov, à Litvinov, en République tchèque. J’y rencontrai Lenka, une tchèque acquise à leur cause. Elle me parla des villages roms de Slovaquie.

Trois mois plus tard, je passai la prendre à Prague. Elle sera mon interprète dans ce nouveau voyage."

Alain Keler a couvert tous les conflits majeurs depuis le milieu des années 1970 : Israël, le mouvement Solidarność en Pologne, l’Irlande du Nord, la révolte des étudiants de la place Tian’anmen à Pékin, la famine en Éthiopie, les guerres au Liban, au Salvador ou en Tchétchénie.

96 pages ± 45 photographies - Couverture cartonnée et toilée

Format : 140 x 180 mm - ISBN : 978-2-36510-078-6


Un voyage en hiver.mp4 from Les Editions de Juillet on Vimeo.


 

Fermer (esc)

Newsletter

Une fois par mois, découvrez notre actualité, nos nouvelles parutions et profitez d'avantages exclusifs.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche

Panier

Votre panier est vide.
Boutique