Shipping costs are offered with the promo code EDJ

Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet

Tableaux

Regular price €25.00

Unit price per 

This work is the restitution of the photographic residency of Cédric Martigny within the Lamotte group, a real estate development company located in Rennes.

Through a lighting device close to the studio, the first chapter of the work dramatizes the movements of men and women on construction sites. The second chapter, devoted to office life, features the employees of the design office, accounting firm, with reference to classical painting.e. 

« Cédric Martigny builds a visual and plastic environment in a staging that is as much a comedy film, silent film as this realistic painting of the Barbizon School, Millet in particular we remember the Gleaners from which Agnès Varda was inspired for her eponymous film. , and Flemish masters for their chiaroscuro. Through these referents, there is an effect of reterritorialization of the gesture and a call to a whole visual history, including that of cinema, in the fact that one image calls for another. autre…

This relation to the imaginary is founded by the work of the photographer, who gives the possibility of representation to the gesture of the craftsman, to reposition himself in the field of the visible, acts here intentionally, also by the reference to Winogrand who sought what things look like when they are photographed. In view of his previous work,ts, Workshops, Associations, Cédric Martigny evokes here a possible representation of work; this goes through the gesture because of the body. It is through the representation of the gesture that we will be able to talk about work, he says, because it is the body that engages the worker in hardship, beauty, any way of being in the world. By nature the gesture has an aesthetic dimension, it is a form, an imagination.aire ».

Pascal Therme extract from the prefacee)

-----

Interview with Loïc Bodin, sculptor, at the center of the book.

-----

In co-publication with the association The Wings of Caïus

-----

Format 260 x 200 mm - 52 photographs and color drawings

Hard cover

 

 


Close (esc)

newsletter

Once a month, discover our news, our new publications and take advantage of exclusive advantages.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Tableaux - Les Editions de Juillet

Merci de nous indiquer la quantité souhaitée

-

Cet ouvrage est la restitution de la résidence photographique de Cédric Martigny au sein du groupe Lamotte, entreprise de promotion immobilière située à Rennes. 

Par le biais d'un dispositif de lumières proche du studio, le premier chapitre de l'ouvrage théâtralise les mouvements des hommes et femmes sur les chantiers de construction. Le deuxième chapitre, consacré à la vie de bureau, met en scène les salariés de l'entreprise (bureau d'étude, comptabilité,…) en se référant à la peinture classique. 

« Cédric Martigny construit un environnement visuel et plastique dans une mise en scène qui relève aussi bien du film d’humour, du film muet que de cette peinture réaliste de l’École de Barbizon, Millet en particulier (on se souvient des Glaneuses dont Agnès Varda s’inspira pour son film éponyme), et des maîtres flamands pour leurs clairs-obscurs. Il y a par ces référents un effet de reterritorialisation du geste et un appel à toute une histoire visuelle, dont celle du cinéma, dans le fait qu’une image en appelle une autre…

Ce rapport à l’imaginaire est fondé par le travail du photographe, qui donne la possibilité de représentation au geste de l’artisan, pour se repositionner dans le champ du visible, agit ici intentionnellement, également par la référence à Winogrand qui cherchait « à quoi ressemblent les choses quand elles sont photographiées ». Au vu de ses travaux précédents, Ateliers, Associations, Cédric Martigny évoque ici une possible représentation du travail ; celui-ci passe par le geste en raison du corps. « C’est par la représentation du geste qu’on va pouvoir parler du travail, dit-il, parce que c’est le corps qui engage le travailleur dans la pénibilité, la beauté, toute façon d’être au monde. Par nature le geste a une dimension esthétique, c’est une forme, un imaginaire ».

Pascal Therme (extrait de la préface)

-----

Entretien avec Loïc Bodin, sculpteur, au centre de l'ouvrage.

-----

En coédition  avec l'association Les ailes de Caïus

-----

Format 260 x 200 mm - 52 photographies et dessins en couleurs

Couverture cartonnée