Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Load image into Gallery viewer, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet

Keepers of time

Regular price €40.00

Unit price per 

Located on the roof of the Cévennes, the Mont Aigoual Observatory is the last inhabited mountain weather station in France.Keepers of Time questions the evolutions of science and the place of man in nature, through the daily history of the four employees and permanent residents of the observatory, who resist the extreme climatic conditions of this mountain, and the disappearance of their profession.

Technological developments in climate science have relegated naturalistic observation skills to the background, and now meteorologists look less at the sky than at the screen.

At Aigoual, humans still occupy a privileged place. The park's instruments are regularly maintained, meteorologists run a test center in extreme conditions ... And in summer, in the exhibition prepared for winter, they welcome the public to whom they explain the principles of forecasting.

But what intrigues visitors is above all this lighthouse keeper's way of life: how do you manage winter in this creaking building, buried in the snow or sequestered by the wind?

Unrolling a gallery of portraits of these men and women, in dialogue with an Olympian landscape with a powerful atmospheric dimension, the story borrows from mythology the codes of a metaphorical and poetic representation of this disused world. The Keepers of Time seem to fabricate weather phenomena in the shelter of these thick, century-old walls. Or do they summon them inside for one last dance?

The Aigoual station is now destined for a new story. The site is being transformed into a climate change awareness center, which will open in 2022. A strong symbolic choice, and a great future project for this threatened place, where a topical subject will be questioned. But also a turning point for Aigoual, after more than a century of human observation and transmission.

The story of the Keepers of Time, from testimony to tribute, therefore becomes even more precious and nourishes an imaginary necessary for our dream-seeking society and carries a rare poetic and humanist heritage, which it is important to pass on.

-----

Florence Joubert works in the fields of architecture, heritage and science, and explores the world of trades there. In particular, she followed the Louis Vuitton Foundation site for 6 years, collaborates regularly with the Scientific and Technical Center for Building, and reveals the skills of luxury craftsmanship for various houses. She also regularly collaborates with the press in order (Polka, L’Obs, Le Parisien Week-End, Zadig…) and also publishes his travel stories in extreme latitudes, in photos and writings. His favorite subjects, on the fringes of the documentary, recount places with a strong historical dimension and unique characters in close relationship with nature.

The text is by Fabien Ribéry,author, associate of modern letters, lecturer at the Université Bretagne Occidentale (UBO) and freelance journalist. He publishes regular columns and other articles in his blog,the interval, and Artpress, the magazine L’Infini (Gallimard),the journal of the MEP, Halide, Profane, 29200…

-----

210 x 270 mm format
Hard cover
ISBN: 978-2-36510-092-2

Close (esc)

newsletter

Once a month, discover our news, our new publications and take advantage of exclusive advantages.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Gardiens du temps - Les Editions de Juillet

Gardiens du temps

Prix régulier €40.00

Prix unitaire par 

Seulement 2 restant

Situé sur le toit des Cévennes, l’Observatoire du mont Aigoual est la dernière station météorologique de montagne habitée en France. Gardiens du Temps questionne les évolutions de la science et la place de l’Homme dans la nature, à travers l'histoire du quotidien des quatre salariés et résidents permanents de l’observatoire, qui résistent aux conditions climatiques extrêmes de cette montagne, et à la disparition de leur métier. 

Les évolutions technologiques des sciences du climat ont relégué les compétences naturalistes d'observation au second plan, et désormais les météorologues regardent moins le ciel que l’écran. 

À l’Aigoual, l’humain occupe encore une place privilégiée. Les instruments du parc sont régulièrement entretenus, les météorologues gèrent un centre de tests en conditions extrêmes...Et l’été, dans l’exposition préparée l’hiver, ils accueillent du public à qui ils expliquent les principes de la prévision.

Mais ce qui intrigue les visiteurs, c’est surtout ce mode de vie de gardien de phare : comment tient-on l’hiver dans cette bâtisse grinçante, enfoui sous la neige ou séquestrés par le vent ?

Déroulant une galerie de portraits de ces hommes et femmes, en dialogue avec un paysage olympien à la puissante dimension atmosphérique, le récit emprunte à la mythologie les codes d’une représentation métaphorique et poétique de ce monde en désuétude. Les Gardiens du Temps semblent fabriquer les phénomènes météo à l’abri de ces épais murs centenaires. Ou les convoquent-t’ils au dedans pour une dernière danse?

La station de l’Aigoual se destine maintenant à une nouvelle histoire. Le site se transforme en un centre de sensibilisation au changement climatique, qui ouvrira en 2022. Un choix symbolique fort, et un beau projet d’avenir pour ce lieu menacé, où l’on questionnera un sujet d’actualité. Mais aussi une page qui se tourne pour l’Aigoual, après plus d’un siècle d’observation et de transmission humaine.

L’histoire des Gardiens du Temps, de témoignage à hommage, devient donc encore plus précieuse et nourrit un imaginaire nécessaire à notre société en mal de rêve et porte un héritage poétique et humaniste rare, qu’il est important de transmettre.

-----

Florence Joubert travaille dans les domaines de l’architecture, du patrimoine et de la science, et y explore l’univers des métiers. Elle a notamment suivi le chantier de la Fondation Louis Vuitton durant 6 ans, collabore régulièrement avec le Centre scientifique et technique du bâtiment, et révèle les gestes de savoir-faire de l’artisanat de luxe pour différentes maisons. Elle collabore par ailleurs régulièrement avec la presse en commande (Polka, L’Obs, Le Parisien Week-End, Zadig…) et y publie aussi ses récits de voyage en latitudes extrêmes, en photos et écrits. Ses sujets de prédilection, à la marge du documentaire, racontent des lieux à la dimension historique forte et des personnages singuliers en étroite relation avec la nature.

Le texte est de Fabien Ribéry, auteur, agrégé de lettres modernes, chargé de cours à l’Université Bretagne Occidentale (UBO) et journaliste free lance. Il publie des chroniques régulières et autres articles dans son blog, l'intervalle, et  Artpress, la revue L’Infini (Gallimard), la revue de la MEP, Halogénure, Profane, 29200 …

-----

Format 210 x 270 mm
Couverture cartonnée
ISBN : 978-2-36510-092-2

Fermer (esc)

Newsletter

Une fois par mois, découvrez notre actualité, nos nouvelles parutions et profitez d'avantages exclusifs.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche

Panier

Votre panier est vide.
Boutique